Whats In My Bag?

I’ll keep updating this list whenever I discover something new, so keep your eye on it.

Updated: June 15th 2017.

The Essentials 

My Phone

S7 EdgeMy Samsung S7 Edge comes with me everywhere. I choose Samsung because of it’s exceptional camera for a smartphone and the expandable memory. It allows me to ditch the old point and shoot camera (one less thing to carry and keep charged) and keep those important files backed up on memory card. Plus it has the added bonus of being waterproof.

Gear 360

Gear 360

Samsung Gear 360, this is what allows me to take the amazing 360 photos. With just the touch of a button I can now share the entire world around me. This gives a full perspective as if you’re actually stood with me. Even better, since the release of the 2017 version the price of this one has plummeted.

Memory Card

Memory Card

360° photos and especially 360° videos are large files, ideally you’ll want to upgrade to at least a 128GB card or larger if you can. I’ve used the SanDisk Ultra 128GB microSD now for many years and they’ve always been reliable.

Silicone Protective Lens Cap

As the there isn’t much other than a bag for protection as standard and didn’t particularly want to carry around an external hard case I thought I’d give this Silicone case a try. It’s done the job so far

Monopod & Stand

You don’t always want to be holding the camera or be in the picture for that matter. That’s where this monopod comes in. With its slim line, lightweight, robust build and reducing down to a compact travel size easy for carrying around. It’s an ideal friend for all 360 Photographers.

Spare Battery

Spare Batteries

If you’re only taking stills on occasion the battery can last for a couple days, but video drains the battery fast and the camera is susceptible to overheating. Luckily for me I haven’t had this problem yet, but I’ve read it seems to be quite a common problem. Having a spare battery or two at hand will help you to carry on with your day knowing you’ll never run out of power. Im currently using Expro’s twin samsung 360 kit

Portable Wireless Charger

There’s nothing worse than being in the middle of nowhere and your phone is going to die. This little beaut will keep your phone battery topped up nicely and what makes this even better is that it’s completely wireless. Just rest your phone on top and hey presto it’s charging. (wireless phone compatibility required).

The Travel Essentials

Along with the list above, when i’m away from home and shooting overseas these are the things I can’t travel without.  When travelling the most commonly asked question is what to pack? Remember if you really need something, buy it. It’s not that hard to find medicine, clothes, or an umbrella overseas. In Asia everything is very cheap and almost everything is replaceable.
Also remember you’ll be carrying your bag most the time. I often see people wearing huge backpacks, struggling to walk and in a tropical climate it’s not the best idea. Try to stick to the same climate if you can during trips to avoid carrying lots of different clothes. You don’t want to be lugging sweaters around Thailand!

Pack smart, pack light and take as little as possible

Flip Flops (aka Thongs)

The trusty flip flops, these go everywhere with me. I’ve had them for a year now and they still look almost like new, they’re comfortable and durable. I wear them almost everyday.

Worldwide Universal Adapter

The Mu Worldwide Traveller Duo is a superb addition for those who travel light and it stays in my travel bag all the time. It doesn’t matter where you go in the world this has you covered and will keep you charged up and ready to go with US and Euro plug adaptors and two USB ports.

P20 Sunscreen

P20Being fair skinned and one that burns extremely easily this stuff is like liquid gold to me. I’ve found it to be the best I’ve ever used, P20 is translucent, fragrance free comes in a handy spray bottle and lasts for up to 10 hours a day. If watersports are your thing, then you’ll be pleased to know that it has been classed as ‘very water resistant’ and even after frequent swimming remains effective.

Silicone Ear Plugs

These are a must if your travelling long haul flights and staying in hostels, I struggle to sleep without them in noisy environments.

The Bag Itself

Cabin Max LyonThe Cabin Max Lyon, this bag has been on a few trips with me now and is still holding out like new. It’s lightweight, durable, versatile & good quality. You can convert it from backpack to trolley in about 30 seconds. I have made a couple adaptations by adding drinks holders to either side and some Velcro to hold the inside pockets closed as i found items tended to fall out to the bottom of the bag often. You can never find a bag that is 100% perfect, but so far this is as close as I’ve come.

Tip..convert it to a backpack on budget airlines as sometimes when you reach the gate they tend to put wheeled cabin bags in the hold.

Have I missed anything I should add to my essentials? Let me know below

Leave a Reply

